Big Game?

For some reason I have always loved small antelope species.  During my 2009 pilgrimage to Africa, I really wanted to harvest a Steenbok.  As I negotiated my package cost and the budget of the trip with my wife, we discussed the reasons I wanted to harvest each animal.  She finally agreed that a zebra should be part of the package.  I agreed to give up my warthog and steenbok.  On the third day of the hunt, it happened.

We spotted a really good steenbok while riding back to the lodge.  We stopped the truck and had a conversation with myself, our PH and my sweetheart.  It went something like this.  “That is a record book steenbok.”  “How big?”  “Best we’ve seen in a few hunts.”  “Can I shoot it?”  “No!” “Man, I really want to shoot that Steenbok”  “It is not going to just sit there while you make up your mind” “I’m going to shoot it.”  “Then why did you even ask me?”  “Boom”  “Great, I thought we had a deal.”  “I just couldn’t pass it up babe, sorry.” 

Let’s define “a really good buck.”  I was told that 8 inches total will get you into the record book.  The 8 inches is calculated by adding the length of both horns to the circumference of each horn.  Honestly, I haven’t checked to see if that is the case.  What I do know was that we had seen a few steenbok and this dude had good length and much better mass than anything else we had seen.  He ended up measuring (I say this a bit tounge in cheek)- a whopping 10 inches total.  Each horn was just over 4 inches with a very respectable 1 inch of mass for each horn.  At the end of the day, I really didn’t care that much about the measurement.  The biggest thing was just enjoying the harvest of that little steenbok that I had wanted since I had booked the hunt.   By the way, it was delicious.

Leave a Reply

